In the past I’ve bitched about running and how much I hate it, but in spite of that on May 5 I paid someone to watch me run. Not just to watch me, but to video me and critique my running in front of 12 other people. And to make me stand on one foot and kick my feet like a bull taking on the cape. No, really.

At Silverdale Crossfit we had a running clinic with Dan Hollingsworth from Kitsap Crossfit. It was three hours of learning how most people run (it’s wrong), how Pose running works (it’s right), and a bunch of drills to get you from wrong to right. Why does a person who hates running take a running clinic? One, because running properly will prevent injury and improve performance. Two, because running will make me a better Crossfitter. And these days everything is about making me a better Crossfitter! Oh, and three, because I need to get my dog back into show shape, which means running.

Running drills

Running drills

Do these drills make sense to you? No? Go take a running clinic! ;) Some other resources are this video and this video.

Am I a magical unicorn floating over the ground with precision and ease? Hell no. I’m a rhinoceros stomping across the asphalt and trying not to fall on my face. But I did see a marked improvement between the before and after videos. In video one I was heel striking, not pulling nearly enough, and not falling enough. By the end I was fore/midfoot striking and getting into a good pose position with more forward lean. Not perfect, but better. So what did I run walk away with? Knowledge on why the conventional running style doesn’t work, information on the keys to healthy running style, and drills to develop new muscle memory patterns. Plus it was a lot of fun! I now have drills to work on and am ready to do C25K again. Because even with my newfound magical running information there’s no point in running more than a 5k. I mean, honestly.

Notes I took: pull faster, foot higher (pose position), no heel strike, fall more, more knee bend (no straight knee on push off), don’t release the raised leg too soon, get under the bar (no upward movement), pose longer (heel to knee or beyond), turnover, lead with hips, more falling = faster and more efficient.

The SCF gang!

The SCF gang!

